Saturday 1st of April 2023

Nairobi, Kenya

Fifa World Cup Winners History List Of All The Winners From 1930 To 2018

Posted On : November 18, 2022

Oscar Alochi


The 2022 FIFA World Cup may be held in Qatar, but France will also draw a lot of attention.
Les Bleus, who defeated Croatia in the 2018 World Cup final 4-2 to win the event for the third time in their history, will be back in 2022.

The FIFA World Cup, one of the biggest sporting events in the world, is currently underway. This year’s championship is about to begin, and soccer fans everywhere can’t wait to see their favorite teams and players in action.

The first FIFA World Cup was held in 1930, and since then, it has been held every four years, with the exception of 1942 and 1946 because of World War II. The most recent and 22nd FIFA World Cup will take place in Qatar from November 20 to December 18, 2022.
For the first time ever, the FIFA Globe Cup will be staged in the Arab world. 32 nations will compete for the coveted title.

Aurélien Tchouaméni and Eduardo Camavinga of Real Madrid could step up in Qatar despite manager Didier Deschamps being unable to bring up top midfielders like N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea) and Paul Pogba (Juventus), who were outstanding in the 2018 run, due to different lower-body injuries.
Can France, which is in Group D alongside Australia, Denmark, and Tunisia, win again in 2022? Only two nations have done so in the last 21 competitions.

But how many teams have won the FIFA World Cup overall throughout its history?

Let’s review each past World Cup victor’s performance four years later:

Winners in 1930: Uruguay
As a result of a few European teams accepting offers to join the tournament it held in 1930, Uruguay decided to boycott Italy’s tournament in 1934.

Winners in 1934: Italy
The next result was in 1938 when Italy defeated Hungary 4-2 to defend its title from 1934.

Winners in 1938: Italy
The tournaments in 1942 and 1946 were postponed due to World War II, although Italy did not advance through its group in this season.

Winners in 1950: Uruguay
Next result: Uruguay lost to Hungary 4-2 in the semifinals and Austria 3-1 in the third-place match, finishing in fourth place in 1954.

Winners in 1950: Uruguay
Next result: Uruguay lost to Hungary 4-2 in the semifinals and Austria 3-1 in the third-place match, finishing in fourth place in 1954.

Winners in 1954: West Germany
The following result: West Germany placed fourth in 1958 after losing to Sweden 3-1 in the semifinals and to France 6-3 in the third-place match.
Winners in 1958: Brazil

The following result was Brazil winning the title for the second time in a row in 1962 after defeating now-divided Czechoslovakia 3-1.

Winners in 1962: Brazil
Next result: Brazil came in third in its group in 1966, trailing only Portugal and Hungary.

Winners in 1966: England
The following result: West Germany defeated England 3-2 in the quarterfinals in 1970.

Winners in 1970: Brazil
Brazil defeated to Poland 1-0 in the third-place playoff in 1974.

Winners in 1974: West Germany
Following that, West Germany came in third in their group in 1978, trailing only the Netherlands and Italy.

Winners in 1978: Argentina
Argentina placed third in the second group stage in 1982, behind Brazil and Italy.

Winners in 1982: Italy
Next outcome: In the Round of 16, Italy was defeated by France 2-0 in 1986.

Winners in 1986: Argentina
1990: Argentina came close to winning again but fell to West Germany in the championship game by a score of 1-0.

Winners in 1990: West Germany
The nation, now reunified as Germany (DFB), fell to Bulgaria 2-1 in the quarterfinals in 1994. In 1990, West Germany and East Germany joined into one country.

Winners in 1994: Brazil
The following result was in 1998 when Brazil came close to winning again but ultimately fell to France 3-0.

Winners in 1998: France
Next result: In 2002, France came in last place in its group, trailing only Uruguay, Senegal, and Denmark.

Winners in 2002: Brazil
Next result: In the quarterfinal match in 2006, Brazil fell to France 1-0.

Winners in  2006: Italy
The following outcome: In 2010, Italy came in last place in their group, trailing Paraguay, Slovakia, and New Zealand.

Winners in 2010: Spain
The next year, Spain finished third in its group, behind Chile and the Netherlands, after winning its first World Cup.

Winners in 2014: Germany
The following outcome: In 2018, Germany came in last in its group, trailing only South Korea, Sweden, and Mexico.

Winners in 2018: France

Next outcome: TBD in 2022

Content courtesy of NBC Sports & NFH 

Oscar Alochi


%d bloggers like this: